Massachusetts 2A-1C Hoisting Exam Preparation
We Guarantee You’ll Pass or It's Free!

In Just 4 Hours We Will Prepare You For These 2 Separate Tests:
2A: All Excavation Equipment + 1C: Forklifts & Telescopic Booms Without Wire Rope
"I can't say strongly enough how effective this course is."
W. Watson MA CSL #102396

Pass the Exams On Your First Try Or It’s Free

Call: (857) 209-4215

Just $139 - Best Value Anywhere!

Book Woburn Book Quincy

We include a digital textbook and over 100 practice questions just like you will see on the real exam (you will receive electronic copies via email!)

How The Guarantee Works: If you take our class and complete the practice questions with a grade of 85% or better (no matter how many times you take them) we will give you a full refund or allow you to retake the class as many times as you want if you don’t pass the exams on your first try.

CURRICULUM

  • MA Laws & MA Regulations for hoisting & licensing
  • Dig Safe rules/ Jackie’s law
  • Hand signals
  • How 2a Equipment operates
  • Soil conditions
  • Soil testing
  • Trenching and Shoring
  • Safe equipment operation
  • Rigging loads
  • OSHA trenching safety
  • OSHA safety for site and operations
  • Review
  • Exam practice testing

Frequently Asked Questions:

  • What types of machines may 2A operators operate?
    All crawler and rubber tired excavators and backhoes with manufacturer approved attachments; and Equipment listed in classes 2B, 2C, and 2D.
  • What activities are covered under the hoisting regulations?
    The regulations, appearing in 520 CMR 6.00, apply to any equipment that has the minimum capability of hoisting a load higher than 10 feet, and either the capability of lifting loads greater than 500 pounds or the capacity of the bucket exceeds 1/4 cubic yards. See 520 CMR 6.01.
  • What kind of hoisting machinery can I operate under a Class 2 restriction?
    The operator shall only operate the hoisting machinery listed on the restrictions below:
    • 2A: All crawler and rubber tired excavators and backhoes, and hoisting machinery listed under 2B, 2C, and 2D with manufacturer-approved attachments.
    • 2B: Combination loader/backhoe machines and hoisting machinery listed under 2C and 2D with manufacturer-approved attachments.
    • 2C: Front end loaders and hoisting machinery listed under 2D with manufacturer-approved attachments.
    • 2D: compact hoisting machinery with a gross vehicle weight not exceeding 10,000 pounds with manufacturer-approved attachments, excluding Class 1, Class 3, and Class 4.
  • What is on the hoisting operator examination?
    The exam tests practical knowledge of all working parts of the hoisting machinery, safe operating practices, safety inspection of the equipment, hand signals, and the Massachusetts State Statutes, State laws, and Regulations.
  • How old do I have to be to obtain a hoisting license?
    You must be 18 years of age or older..
  • I currently hold a Massachusetts ID and neither a driver’s license nor a learner’s permit. Can I be licensed?
    Yes. A Massachusetts ID is accepted when applying for a hoisting license.
  • What must I do to get licensed as a hoisting operator?
    Complete and send to the Department the following:
    • A. The completed Hoisting Machinery Application.
    • B. A legible photocopy of a valid driver's license, driver’s license learner’s permit, or Massachusetts ID issued by the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles.
    • C. One 2" x 2" photograph of yourself or permission to gain access to the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles database if applicant is a resident of Massachusetts. The photo should be a head, or head and shoulders shot. Access to the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles database can be granted via the hoisting machinery license application.
    • D. A copy of your DOT medical certificate, Intrastate Medical Waiver from the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles, OR ANSI/ASME B30.5-2014 qualifications for operators. You may attain a copy of the DOT Medical Examination Report and Certificate, and the Massachusetts Intrastate Medical Waiver by clicking on the highlighted title(s).
    • E. Send a check or money order for $75.00 made out the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. This is a non-refundable fee..
    • F. You must pass an examination issued by this Department.
  • Do I need to be a Massachusetts resident?
    No. But you must have a VALID (driver's license from your state of residence.
  • Is there any exemption from the requirement to produce a copy of my DOT medical certificate?
    An applicant for the hoisting license may submit a copy of their valid Intrastate Medical Waiver from the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles OR ANSI/ASME B30.5-2014 qualifications for operators instead of the DOT medical certificate..
  • Does a skid steer with sweeper and bucket attachment require a hoisting license?
    Yes. A skid steer with a manufacturer-approved sweeper and bucket attachment would require a hoisting license with a 2C license restriction if it can lift 500 lbs. or if the capacity of the bucket exceeds ¼ cubic yards. Note: a skid steer with ONLY a sweeper and NO BUCKET does not require a license.
  • Does a skid steer with backhoe attachment require a hoisting license?
    Yes. A skid steer with a manufacturer-approved backhoe attachment requires a hoisting license with a 2C license restriction.
  • Does a skid steer with a grapple attachment require a hoisting license?
    Yes. A skid steer with a manufacturer-approved grapple attachment requires a hoisting license with a 2C license restriction.
  • Does a skid steer with an auger (post hole digger) attachment require a hoisting license?
    Yes. A skid steer with a manufacturer-approved auger (post hole digger) attachment would require a hoisting license with a 2C license restriction.
  • Does a telescoping excavator/loader require a hoisting license?
    Yes. A telescoping excavator/loader would require a hoisting license with a 2A license restriction if it can hoist the load higher than 10 feet, and either the capability of lifting loads greater than 500 lbs. or the capacity of the bucket exceeds 1/4 cubic yards.
  • Does a front-end loader with a fork attachment require a hoisting license?
    Yes. A front-end loader with a manufacturer-approved fork attachment requires a hoisting license with a 2C license restriction.
  • What significant changes to the hoisting regulations have been made in the new version now effective November 18, 2016?
    There are significant changes to the hoisting regulation pertaining to in-service training programs, the use of manufacturer-approved attachments on Class 2 hoisting machinery, the reduction of required continuing education hours, acceptance of the Intrastate Medical Waiver from the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles, acceptance of driver’s license learners permits or Massachusetts IDs for license applications, and the creation of the Municipal - Limited restriction. Changes also include updated definitions and standards.
  • How Does The Guarantee Work?
    If you don’t pass the exam, let us know and we will refund your money. Or you can choose to re-take the class at no charge. Expect to pass though, over 90% of our students do!
  • Massachusetts State Links

Get in Touch with us

Still have Questions? Contact Us using the Form below

Send us an Email

Copyrights © 2016 Guaranteed Massachusetts Construction School. All Rights Reserved.
Made with by SearchBank